Balance

This week I have noticed a good example of how the universe always provides balance.

I recently finished reading the book 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami, a science fiction in which one of the central themes is balance in the world. For example, one of the characters describes how where there is light in the world, there must be an equal amount of darkness, and where there is good, there will be an equal amount of bad. This has made me notice instances of balance in our world.

I live in Canada, where the winters are notoriously cold. This year I moved to Toronto, where it is known that the winters are generally milder than other cities I have lived in in the past. So I was looking forward to experiencing a mild Toronto winter.  I wasn’t counting on a Polar vortex however…

Early this week, I experienced one of the coldest days in my life. I woke up on Tuesday to the fire alarm going off in my apartment building. I looked at the temperature outside, and was confronted with the extreme cold of -25 degrees C, and -40 C with the wind chill (and there was wind!!).  There was no way I would go outside in this weather and wait for the fire trucks to arrive!! Luckily it was a false alarm. I still had to go outside to get to work, and I was frozen to the core after being outside for only 5 minutes (fully bundled up in winter gear).

On the other side of the world, my boyfriend who lives in Australia was telling me about the record high temperatures Australia has been experiencing. In his home state, some areas were reaching record high temperatures of 49 degrees C!  For about two weeks, whenever we talked, the temperature in his city was exactly the opposite to the temperature where I was (30C vs -30C).

Finally, to restore balance in Toronto, the weather has done a 180 degree turnaround this weekend, resulting in unseasonably warm temperatures. Yesterday was 7 degrees C, all the snow and ice began to melt, and a fog descended on Toronto.

The range of temperatures we have experienced this week alone has been extraordinary, and a good example to demonstrate that when the scale tips to one side, it must also tip over to the opposite side.

Image

Leave a Reply

