Happy New Year!

Infinity Room by Yayoi Kusama

It’s that time of year again, time to make New Years resolutions. My hope is that putting them down in writing will help motivate me to fulfill them (and remember them!). So here goes. My first resolution is:

1) Write more.

Unfortunately, I have neglected writing in this blog for the past four months.  I started a one-year intensive college course, and devoted most of my free time to either studying, exercising or relaxing, and my blog writing fell by the wayside.

I recently came across a blog post that recommended using writing as a means to maintain balance and to relax during the holidays. (http://www.myyogaonline.com/healthy-living/personal-development/how-a-writing-practice-will-help-you-survive-the-holidays?utm_source=MYO+Dec+28+NL&utm_campaign=ALL&utm_medium=email)  The article drew a link between writing and meditation and yoga, and gave an interesting perspective on writing.   I have been trying to maintain a meditation practice for the last few months, so I really believe that writing could also provide many benefits both intellectually and emotionally.  Therefore, my goal for the next few months is to add to this blog regularly (at least once a month).

2) To cook more

I have been very busy over the last few months, and cooking is not usually high on my priority list. However, I would really like to become more comfortable in the kitchen, and learn to cook more dishes. My mom gave me a vegetarian cook book and a new blender for christmas, so I don’t really have any excuses not to cook!

3) To save money and manage my finances

4) To stay fit, and participate in a 10K run.

5) To maintain a regular meditation practice

So that is my list, short and attainable.  I hope everyone who is thinking of and recording their own New Years Resolutions can successfully fulfill their goals by next year! Wishing everyone a healthy, happy and successful 2014!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

