Sauble Beach, Ontario

A couple of weeks ago, I went for a week-long holiday to Sauble Beach with my sister, my mother and my aunt. The beach is located on Lake Huron, and at seven miles long, is the second longest fresh water beach in the world. We were lucky to have great weather up until the day that we left. Image

Image

We stayed at a motel on the banks of the river connected to the north side of the beach, and just a three minute walk to the beach. It was very peaceful.  We had fun watching the canadian geese gently swim down the river, and other birds catching fish.

Image

Image

My sister and I are both into fitness and jogging, so we went jogging on the beach at least once a day, either in the morning or the evening. It was so invigorating to be able to run along the beach, which was always nearly empty of people.

Image

Image

We had the pleasure of running alongside the most amazing sunset one evening.  That afternoon, I felt pretty tired after laying around in the sun for hours, and I was thinking of foregoing the run that day, and going the next morning instead. However, as soon as I started my nightly meditation, something in me said “yes I have to go”. I was sooo happy that I listened to that voice, the only thing I regretted was not having a camera with me!! I had to be satisfied with taking a mental picture.  We took a camera with us the following evening, but the sunset wasn’t as spectacular.

Image

All in all, we had a great week, and we even made friends with a few seagulls (they can be quite aggressive/bold there, so be careful!).

Image

5 comments

  1. What a lovely beach – and it looks almost empty too. Nice shots.

  2. Looks like an amazing place to spend some time….away from crowds of people and immersed in nature and her wonderful colours 🙂

  3. […] Sauble Beach, Ontario (ausrasjourney.wordpress.com) […]

  4. My absolute favourite thing to do at our Sauble cottage is to go for an early run, just me and the birds (and the odd fox). Glad you got your runs in and enjoyed Sauble.

  5. Looks like the right beach for running! Lovely!

Leave a Reply

